Now Playing Tracks

Novel Novice Junior: “Be A Famous Writer Contest”

Novel Novice Junior: @MrsPstorytime’s “Be A Famous Writer Contest” Kicks-Off TODAY! -

junior-banner
Today kicks off the 6th annual Mrs. P’s Be A Famous Writer Contest – organized by the folks behind Mrs. P’s Magic Library, one of my favorite sites for children to (safely) read stories for free on the web!

mrs p contest 2014The contest starts today and runs through November 15th, and is open to any Kindergarten through 4th Grade classrooms. This year’s theme is TIME TRAVEL.

You have been given a time machine…

View On WordPress

Introducing Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper

Introducing SALT & STORM by @Kendall_Kulper, Sept Book of the Month + desktop wallpaper -

salt and storm botm banner
Today, we kick off our September 2014 Book of the Month, featuring the upcoming release Salt & Storm by Kendall Kulper – a sexy and enchanting mix of magic and historical fiction. Whaling + witches = Salt & Storm (basically, but there’s a whole lot more). I loved this book, and I’m sure you will, too!

Grab our desktop wallpaper calendar below by clicking to view full-size, then right-clicking to…

View On WordPress

The Best of The Bridge from Me to You by Lisa Schroeder

The Best of THE BRIDGE FROM ME TO YOU by @Lisa_Schroeder - Wrapping up our Book of the Month Feature -

Bridge_botm_banner
Today we wrap-up our August Book of the Month feature spotlighting The Bridge from Me to You by Lisa Schroeder, with a look back at our favorite highlights:

bridge from me to you, the - largePoetry & Prose Writing Contest

Write a short piece of flash fiction (try to keep it around 250-500 words) that combines poetry and prose to tell your story. You have until midnight (PT) on Sunday, August 31st to submit your entry. Be sure to…

View On WordPress

Book Review: Girl Defective by Simmone Howell

Book Review: GIRL DEFECTIVE by Simmone Howell, “a captivating and unique spin on the coming-of-age saga” @simonteen -

book reviews banner2
Record store romance. A neighborhood mystery. Finding your place in the world. Girl Defective by Simmone Howell is a captivating and unique spin on the coming-of-age saga.

girl defectiveIn the tradition of High Fidelity and Empire Records, this is the literary soundtrack to Skylark Martin’s strange, mysterious, and extraordinary summer.

This is the story of a wild girl and a ghost girl; a boy who knew nothing…

View On WordPress

girlsinthestacks:

So, we’re on Tumblr, in case ya’ll didn’t notice.  We were, um…hacked.

Yeah, it stinks.  But hey, here we are!  The bonus of Tumblr is GIFS.  Oh, the gifs.

So the other glorious thing about Tumblr is our book collages look so much better.  They really do.  So above we’ve highlighted some of our most anticipated YA releases in September - and those are just the YA books. There are some fabulous adult fiction books coming out next month, too!  (But that’s another post!)

So tell us…what are you looking forward to next month?

We make Tumblr themes